Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Perkins County Farm Bureau holds annual meeting PDF Print E-mail

The 85th annual meeting of the Perkins County Farm Bureau was held in the Madrid city building on Sept. 21. On the menu were steaks prepared by Terry Brott and served by the Perkins County Youth Development Committee.
State President Keith Olsen and Vice President Steve Nelson brought firsthand news on state and national conditions that are being considered that will directly affect the income and operations of our local farmers.
Note was made by members and guests that many of the mandates being considered are being presented by groups in which do not have a voting membership.
A major concern of the group is the lack of involvement in political process by young producers in legislation that will effect personal operations.
Discussion was held on water issues, EPA, animal welfare, and OSHA issues that will be directly affecting farm operations’ profit line.
Kurt Payne was elected to lead the group in the coming year, with Leon Regier as V.P. and Tom Schroder as secretary treasurer. Young farmers Brandon Krajewski and Mitch Mosel were elected to the board of directors. Jim Toner and Linda Krajewski retired from the board after several years of dedicated work.
Coming events are policy development in Kearney in October and state convention in December.
See any of the board members on possibilities of membership and activities.