Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Nominees selected for three Midwest directorships PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

Directors will be elected to serve in three districts of Midwest Electric Cooperative Corporation when the company holds its annual meeting in March.

Nominees for District 1, District 5 and District 9 were selected during a meeting of the nominating committee on Jan. 12.

The newly elected directors will be announced during the business portion of the annual meeting on March 18 at Perkins County High School.

Each district has an incumbent who is running. Directorship positions and the nominees include:

District 1: Larry Chandler and Brad Harms, both of Brule, have been nominated. Ron Ivers of Ogallala is the incumbent.

District 5: Three residents of Madrid vie for the position as director. Nominees include Pat Aerni and Randy Meyer. Ron Hagan is the incumbent.

District 9: Incumbent Rod Clough of Wallace will compete for the position against Ron Johnson and Rod Griffiths, both of Elsie.

Nominees have the option of declining to run. Each director elected will serve a three-year term, with the possibility of serving up to four terms, or a total of 12 years. 

In District 1, Ivers is in his first term. Incumbent Hagan of District 5 is ending his  second term. Clough will be running for his third term. 

Seven members of the nominating committee from Midwest’s nine districts attended the meeting, including Bill Robertson, Jim Cooper, Mike Hagan, David Cornelius, Brad Doell, Alan Haenfler and Gene Krab. 

Cornelius and Doell were selected to conduct the nominating committee meeting. 

Also present to explain to the committee its duties and functions were Midwest employees, and Cindy Salsman, administrative services manager.