Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

One new filing meets deadline PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

Perkins County Clerk Rita Long has announced only one new filing in the past week—that of incumbent Mayor Michael Wyatt.

Wyatt’s mayoral seat, along with two other seats on Grant City Council will be filled in the November General Election. 

Wyatt became mayor when former mayor Adam Uehling resigned in July 2008. As council president, Wyatt completed Uehling’s term.which is now up for election. 

Thus far, no one has filed for either of the council seats held by Darrell Pierce and Dennis Hansen. Pierce will not be filing, as he has instead filed for the District 3 commissioner seat. 

The deadline for incumbent filing was Tuesday, Feb. 16, as the President’s Day holiday fell on Monday. 

Non-incumbents have until Monday, March 1 to file for any of the open seats in the county.

They include: The county’s elected positions of attorney, assessor, clerk, sheriff, treasurer, commissioner Dist. 2 and commissioner Dist. 3.

Other seats to be filled: Perkins County Hospital Board, Perkins County School District, Mayor of Grant, Grant City Council, Village of Elsie, Village of Madrid, Village of Venango, ESU 16, NRD Sub-District 4, 8, 10, and At-Large, District 4 of the NPPD, and a seat on Mid-Plains Community College Area 2.  



• Mayor of Grant: Michael Wyatt 


—May 11 Primary

Non-incumbent deadline: Monday, March 1.

Incumbent deadline: already past 

Withdrawal: Incumbents who have filed have until March 1 to withdraw from the race.

—November General Election 

(Village Trustees/ESU)

Incumbent deadline: Thursday, July 15

• Non-incumbent deadline: Monday, Aug. 2