Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Three incumbents re-elected to serve Midwest’s districts PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

The annual meeting of Midwest Electric Cooperative Corporation held last week had nearly 170 voting members in attendance. 

However, the member whose name drawn for the big cash prize was not there. Darrell Bearson from Ft. Lupton, Colo., would have gone home $2,000 richer had he been among the members and guests who were fed and entertained at the event Thursday night at Perkins County High School.

The jackpot prize will carry over until next year.

Midwest served nearly 270 at the meal just prior to the business portion of the evening when three directors were elected. 

Incumbents from District 1,5 and 9 were each re-elected for a three-year term. 

Serving District 1 is Ron Ivers of Ogallala, who ran against nominees Larry Chandler and Brad Harms, both of Brule. 

District 5 will again be served by  incumbent Ron Hagan of Madrid. Pat Aerni and Randy Meyer, both of Madrid, were Hagan’s nominated opponents.

Rod Clough of Wallace was re-elected to serve District 9. Ron Johnson and Rod Griffiths, both of Elsie, were also nominated for the position.

This will be Clough’s third term. Directors can serve up to fours terms, or a total of 12 years. Ivers, in District 1, will be serving his second term, and Hagan will serve a third term in District 5.

Board members include: President Dick Hasenauer, Vice President Ron Hagan, Secretary Rod Clough, Treasurer Kent Kroeker.