Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Pankonin and Deaver advance as Perkins County Commissioner candidates PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

In a tight race, Leon Pankonin with 78 unofficial votes edged out Matt Waitley, who received 74 votes in District 2, to advance to the November General Election for Perkins County Commissioner. 

In District 3 James Deaver easily garnered the votes to advance. 

Unless a four-vote difference changes when votes are officially counted on Thursday, Pankonin in District 2 and Deaver in District 3 will be placed on the November ballot unopposed by any Democratic filing.

Candidates vying for the commissioner seat in District 2 included: incumbent Pankonin, Waitley, James Vak and Kelvin Kurkowski. The vote count was Pankonin-78, Waitley-74, Kurkowski-32, Vak-30.


For the full story, subscribe to our e-Editions for $29/year.

Call 308-352-4311 for details.