Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

PCHS Foundation golf tourney nets $3,753 for hospital beds PDF Print E-mail

The annual Perkins County Health Services Foudnation golf tournament raised $3,753 to help purchase five new hospital beds for Perkins County Health Services.

Sixty-four golfers participated in the event held at the Grant Golf Club Sunday, Aug. 15. Participants consisited of 32 two-person teams with a scramble format. 

Tournament helpers were Audrey Mathes, Ron and Gloria Patrick, Jayson Bishop, Lori Day, Connie Pofahl and Val Foster.

Hole prize winners were Taylor Lake, Mitch McCloskey, Jayson Bishop, Craig Clough, Tobin Buchanan, Brad Hays, Randy Styskal and Rex Seal.

Much of the financial success of the tournament was due to several hole sponsors: Grant Pharmacy (hole-in-one insurance), Cash-Wa Distributing, Professional Associates of Omaha, Doug and Shari Sexson, Keith Olsen, McGreer Brothers Pioneer Products, Regier Land Improvement, Countryside Insurance Agency, Sidney Roofing, Kemling Farms, Scoular Co. of Venango, Hi-Line Coop of Elsie, Frenchman Valley Coop of Grant, Mike Long’s Repair Service, Dan and Charlottie Wallin, Farmers State Bank of Wallace, Bamford Inc. of Kearney, and Allen’s Carpet and Furniture of Ogallala.

Seven hole prize sponsors supported the event: Heritage Crop Insurance, Smith Financial Services of Wallace, Farm Bureau and Financial Services, Wendell’s Irrigation, Logsdon and Sons, Noyes Irrigation and HomeTown Agency.

Food sponsors were Kwik Stop, In & Out, Hatch’s Super Foods and Schwan’s Fine Foods.

Second flight winners were Michael Swan and Marvin Swan, first place; Larry Bieker and Karl Lake, second; Mitch McCloskey tied for third place. Tim Pofahl, Jim Toner, James York, Michael York, Kirk York all tied for third place.

First flight winners were Brent Thelander and Jeff Skeels, first place; Brian Pankonin and Jeannie Kuskie, second; Jeremy Hagan and Elliot Carlson, third.

Championship flight winners were John D. Mathes and John Long, first place; Tobin Buchanan and Jayson Bishop, second place; Carl Keffer and Rex Seal, third place.