Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Perkins County Schools adopts dating violence mandate PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

With the beginning of a new school year comes a mandated policy that will give students, teachers and parents a little more peace of mind.

The Nebraska Legislature adopted a dating violence bill last summer that was required to be put into effect in school handbooks across the state by July 1 of this summer. 

On June 14, the Board of Education of Perkins County Schools (PCS) adopted the dating violence policy.

Introduced in Nebraska by Sen. Gwen Howard, the bill raises awareness about the dangers of dating violence.

Legislative Bill 64 in Nebraska is modeled after the Lindsay Ann Burke Act which was enacted by the Rhode Island General Assembly in 2007.

Lindsay Ann Burke was a 23-year-old Rhode Island woman brutally murdered by a former boyfriend in 2005. 

Falling under the umbrella of a bullying policy in the PCS handbook, the newly adopted dating violence policy addresses a pattern of behavior where one person uses threats of, or actually uses, physical, sexual, verbal or emotional abuse to control his or her dating partner. 

Forms are available at school for students to report an incident of bullying, sexual harassment, dating violence or sexual violence which will be investigated by school officials who will take appropriate action with as much confidentiality as possible.

 

For the full story, subscribe to our e-Editions for $29.50/year.

Call 308-352-4311 for details.