Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Coach and athlete with Grant ties inducted into hall of fame PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor

Two individuals with ties to Grant were among those inducted into the Nebraska High School Sports Hall of Fame recently. 

Longtime Plainsmen coach Larry Pritchett joined four other coaches in the state as honorees at the 17th induction ceremony on Sept. 26 at the Lied Center in Lincoln.

  “This was a very special honor that means a great deal to me,” said Pritchett.  “But it is an honor that involved lots of people—my family, a great group of administrators through the years,  an unbelievable group of coaches that were on the basketball staffs during the years, super fan support and most importantly a great bunch of players.”

Pritchett said none of it would have happened without the players he was blessed to have during the years. 

“The players started a tradition in the 60s and have carried that tradition through to the present time,” he said. “I cannot thank everyone involved enough for what they have done for me and the basketball program here in Grant.”

Gary Power, son of Lillian Power and brother of Marcy Shalla, both of Grant, was among the 11 athletes honored during the ceremony. Power, a 1960 Gothenburg graduate, high hurdled his way to fame.

Also inducted during the recent ceremony were two contributors and an official. 

Coaches besides Pritchett who were honored included Gary DeBoer of Lawrence-Nelson; Ted Larson of Lincoln Southeast and Southwest; Chuck Mizerski of Lincoln Southeast; and Howard Zook of Fairfield. 

The athletes’ induction class this year that included Power also honored: Dan Brand, Bellevue (1953); Don “Moose” Cooper, York (1944); Ahman Green, Omaha Central (1995); Herb Grote, Omaha Benson (1938); Barb Harris, Lincoln High (1977); Ted Harvey, Lexington (1974); Angee Henry, Bellevue West (1993); Jodi (Janssen) Harper, Papillion-LaVista High (1994); Clarence Mitchell, Franklin (1908); Gary Power, Gothenburg (1960); and Ed Thompson, Cambridge (1995). 

The contributors honored were Tom Hallstrom of Omaha and Rex Jones of Chadron, along with referee Willie Weisbrook of Lincoln.

In addition, the hall’s selections for other honorees included: 

—Jacob Ramsay of Lincoln Pius X (Great Moment in High School Sports)

—Omaha Marian (Dominant Dynasty award)

—Jason Branigan, Papillion-LaVista (Ron Gustafson Inspiration Award)

—Roger and Donna Higgins family (Fischer Family Award)

—Fairfield football, basketball and track teams of 1960-61 (Golden Anniversary Team)

—McCook football of 1960 (Golden Anniversary Team)

—Grand Island Northwest football of 1985 (Silver Anniversary Team)

—Creighton Prep football of 1985 (Silver Anniversary Team)