Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Elsie producer to serve Nebraska Beef Council PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn

Managing Editor


In District 6, which serves Perkins County, Steve Hanson of Elsie recently defeated two opponents for election to the Nebraska Beef Council.

The voting period which ran from Nov. 1-15 included Hanson, Jerry Kuenning of Imperial and Pam Potthoff of Trenton on the ballot for District 6.

Elections were also held in Districts 2, 4, and 8.

The Nebraska Beef Council Board of Directors met on Dec. 1 and certified the director elections in Districts 4, 6 and 8.

The District 2 election between Dave Hamilton and Chris Abbott was not certified by the NBC Board of Directors.

The ballots in this election are being recertified and validated with the assistance of a third party and the results will be announced at a later date.

The results for the three districts certified are:

District 4: Richard Schrunk of Emmet, 463 votes; Jay Wolf of Albion, 144 votes.

District 6: Steve Hanson of Elsie, 186 votes; Jerry Kuenning of Imperial, 138 votes; and Pam Potthoff of Trenton, 87 votes.

District 8: Dawn Caldwell of Edgar, 177 votes; Darrell Bushkoetter of Lawrence, 108 votes; Dave McCracken of Friend, 100 votes.

The Nebraska Beef Council is responsible for collecting the $1 per head beef checkoff. Of that, 50 cents is sent to the national Cattlemen’s Beef Board and the other 50 cents is retained by the Nebraska Beef Council. The producers who pay the checkoff fee have a local say, through their elected director, on how to spend the state funds.

The new directors will take office on Jan. 1, 2011.