Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Gov. Heineman accepting applications for Board of Trustees PDF Print E-mail

Gov. Dave Heineman announced Jan. 26 that he is accepting applications for appointment to the Board of Trustees for the Nebraska State Colleges. Trustee Floyd Vrtiska of Table Rock resigned effective Jan. 19.
Vristka’s six-year term would have expired in January 2013. The replacement will fulfill this term, until eligible for reappointment.
The governor appoints six voting members of the Board of Trustees. The Nebraska Commissioner of Education, Dr. Roger Breed, serves as an ex-officio member. The governor also appoints one student trustee from each of the campuses: Peru State College, Chadron State College and Wayne State College.
Interested individuals should complete the application form available on the governor’s website at and include a cover letter and resume addressed to Peggy King in the governor’s office, P.O. Box 94848, Lincoln, NE 68509.  An application form may also be requested by calling the governor’s office.
Anyone with questions about the position may call the governor’s office at (402) 471-2244.  The names of those submitting formal applications will be made public.