Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Wallace sending nine to state speech PDF Print E-mail

Wallace High School garnered the runner-up plaque at district speech and will send nine speakers to the state competition in eight of nine events. Five Wallace students qualified in multiple events.
D2 competition will begin at 8 a.m. Friday, March 25 at the University of Nebraska-Kearney. Finals will take place at 2 p.m. and awards at 5 p.m.

District Results
Entertainment: Sara Rollenhagen second, Lane Swedberg third.
Oral Interpretation of Drama: Ryan Sowle, Lane Swedberg, Emily Hasenauer, Alex Lundvall and Landon Swedberg first.
Serious prose: Sara Rollenhagen third, Jaclyn Nelson sixth.
Informative: John Paul Lempke second.
Humorous: John Paul Lempke first, Landon Swedberg fourth.
Poetry: Alex Lundvall fifth.
Duet: Anna Griffiths and Taylor Nielson third, Rachel Marquardt and John Marquardt.
Extemporaneous: Ryan Sowle first, Mark Jameson fourth.
Persuasive: Emily Hasenauer third, John Marquardt fifth.
Those placing in the top three advance to state as individuals. Qualifying for state are seniors Ryan Sowle and Lane Swedberg, juniors Emily Hasenauer, Sara Rollenhagen and John Paul Lempke, sophomores Taylor Nielson and Anna Griffiths and freshmen Alex Lundvall and Landon Swedberg.