Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Hughes to run again as wheat board director PDF Print E-mail

One directorship to the Nebraska Wheat Development, Utilization and Marketing Board is open for appointment by Governor Dave Heineman.         The term for the member representing District 4 will expire June 30. The filing deadline is no later than 5 p.m., June 1.
District 4 represents the counties of Chase, Dundy, Frontier, Hayes, Hitchcock and Lincoln. (Dan Hughes of Venango, the current District 4 director, has indicated he will pursue reappointment.)
Any wheat producer interested in appointment may submit an application to the governor’s office for consideration.
To obtain an application, interested producers can write to Peggy King, staff assistant for boards and commissions, Nebraska Governor’s Office, State Capitol, Box 94848, Lincoln, NE 68509-4848, phone 402-471-1971; or by writing the Nebraska Wheat Board, P.O. Box 94912, 301 Centennial Mall South, Lincoln, NE 68509, phone 402-471-2358, email This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it .
Candidates may also submit an application online at
Qualified candidates include those who are citizens of Nebraska, are at least 21 years of age, have been actively engaged in growing wheat in Nebraska for a period of at least five years, reside in a county in their respective district and derive a substantial portion of income from producing wheat.
Seven wheat producers comprise the Nebraska Wheat Board and serve terms of five
The Nebraska Wheat Board administers the one and one-quarter cent per bushel excise tax levied on wheat marketed in Nebraska.
The Board invests the funds in programs of international and domestic market development and improvement, policy development, research and education.