Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Four file for open seats PDF Print E-mail

By Jan Rahn
Managing Editor


Newest Filings:
• Village of Venango:
Nathaniel Dodson and David Osborne
• Perkins County School Board:
Doug Beck and Shawn Turner


Two incumbents met the Feb. 15 deadline, and two new candidates also filed on that date to enter the 2012 election.
New hats in the race for the Village of Venango include Nathaniel Dodson and David Osborne, filed last week. There could potentially be more filings for the seat, as the non-incumbent deadline isn’t until Aug. 1.
Incumbents for the Village of Venango trustee seats are Donald Hahlweg and Darrell Patten. Incumbents have until July 16 to file.
Two incumbent candidates for Perkins County Schools Board of Education have filed for re-election. Shawn Turner filed on Feb. 10 to retain his seat, and Doug Beck met the Feb. 15 deadline.
Three seats will be filled on the school board—the other incumbent, Jayson Bishop, filed toward the end of January.
Local Seats to be Filled
• County Commissioner District 1: Incumbent Sid Colson filed in January to retain his seat.
•  Perkins County Hospital Board: Incumbents Richard Thurin and Bob Cummings have filed for re-election. There are two positions which will be filled during the Primary Election in May. Service on the board is for a four-year term.        •  Perkins County School District: Incumbents Shawn Turner, Jayson Bishop and Doug Beck have filed for re-election. Three seats on the board will be filled.
• Grant City Council: Two seats are up for election. Incumbent Tim Pofahl has filed for reelection. The other incumbent is Wayne Pick who chose not to file. Those elected will serve a four-year term.
• Village Trustee of Elsie (see asterisk):  There are three seats open to serve a four-year term for the Village of Elsie. Incumbents are Colby Cook, Justin Hutcheson and Zach Giesselmann.
• Village Trustee of Madrid (see asterisk): Three will be elected to fill seats held by incumbents Tim Moore, Nick Ross and Al Proctor.
•  Village Trustee of Venango (see asterisk): Two candidates will be elected to fill seats in Venango. Incumbents are Donald Hahlweg and Darrell Patten. Filing as new candidates are Nathaniel Dodson and David Osborne.
•  Upper Republican Natural Resource District Sub-District 9 (see asterisk): One position will be filled in the November General Election. The seat is currently held by incumbent Tom Schroeder.
• Other positions: This fall’s election will also fill two seats for Mid-Plains Community College District 2. Incumbent is David Lynch and At-Large member is incumbent Ted Klug, Jr.
*Candidates who enter the race as a village trustee or Upper Republican NRD board member have a separate filing deadline, and their names will appear on the General Election ballot in November—Incumbent deadline is Monday, July 16; Non-incumbent deadline is Wednesday, Aug. 1.