Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Members inducted to National Honor Society PDF Print E-mail



Perkins County High School held their annual National Honor Society induction ceremony on Tuesday, Oct. 2.  Their chapter adviser is Deanne Bishop.  
Membership in the National Honor Society is one of the highest honors that can be awarded to a high school student. The NHS has worked hard to bring the accomplishments of outstanding students to the attention of parents, teachers, peers, and community.
Chapters in more than 12,500 high schools across the nation strive to give practical meaning to the society’s goals of scholarship, leadership, service, and character.
The National Honor Society strives to recognize the total student, one who excels in many areas. Although membership guidelines must also meet national guidelines, local standards are set as well.
The standards used for selection at Perkins County High School include a cumulative grade point average of 90 percent or better and continued involvement in at least two extracurricular activities. During the school year, NHS members must also complete a documented minimum of 16 hours of community service. Members are expected to demonstrate evidence of leadership, service, and good character.
The current members in NHS for the 2012-13 year are: Brendon Barry, Mark Hanson, Quinton Hite, Jessi Hoffert, Lacey Jensen (vice president), Callie Meyer (president), Rachel Patrick, Michi Prante, Jake Sexson, Colton White, and Jessie Woodmancy (secretary)        Newly inducted members include Rebecca Cornelius, Shelby Johnson, Timothy Johnson, Allison Kiolbasa, Courtney Lyon, Brady Mailand, Alex Malmkar, Courtney McClenahan, Chase Miyamoto, Alexis Schmidt, Carlie Waitley and Tayler Walter.