Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Building to be dedicated in honor of the late James Deaver PDF Print E-mail

The Region II Human Services governing board announced that they will celebrate James Deaver’s years of leadership with Region II Human Services at a building dedication on Thursday, May 23, 1 p.m. CT at 110 North Bailey in North Platte. The governing board will dedicate the building to James and unveil the plaque honoring him.
James served as the Perkins County representative on the Region II Human Services governing board for 26 years, from 1979 until his death in January 2013. Twenty of those years he served as the chairman of the board. In his role as board member, he provided the leadership needed to combine mental health and substance abuse services in 1989. He continued that leadership as chairman of the board throughout the behavioral health reform.
James was instrumental in keeping funding in the rural areas of Nebraska. He also served for many years on the State Mental Health Advisory Committee. James always insisted that the needs of the citizens of the 17 county Region II be the first priority. James lived by the service mission of Region II Human Services:
“To work toward the health, happiness and well-being of every person who works within our organization and every person served by our organization.” “To provide the highest quality substance abuse and mental health services to any person in need of those services.”
Region II Human Services is the administrative body for the delivery of mental health and substance abuse services for 17 counties in west central Nebraska.
Region II Human Services is the administrative body for Heartland Clinics in North Platte, Ogallala, McCook and Lexington, Frontier House in North Platte, Pioneer House in McCook and region-wide services including prevention services, community support services, youth care coordination and emergency support services.
Region II is operated by a governing board made up of a county commissioner from each of the 17 counties it serves. Those counties include: Arthur, Chase, Dawson, Dundy, Frontier, Gosper, Grant, Hayes, Hitchcock, Hooker, Keith, Lincoln, Logan, McPherson, Perkins, Red Willow and Thomas.
James Deaver of Perkins County was chairman of the board.
Kathy Seacrest has been with the region since 1978, and has served as the regional administrator since 2008. Mental health and substance abuse services have been offered by the organization since the early 1970s.
The governing board combined the delivery of mental health and substance abuse services in 1989. The region has been nationally accredited through CARF (Commission on the Accreditation of Rehab Facilities) since 1997.
Region II is funded by federal, state and county dollars.
For additional information, contact Kathy Seacrest at (308) 534-0440.