Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

More residents file for seats in county PDF Print E-mail

By Tim Linscott
Managing Editor
The candidate filing date for Perkins County and city seats in Grant is Feb. 18 for incumbents and March 3 for non-incumbents.
Races are starting to be formed for some positions in the county and municipality with other incumbents not filing as of press time.
For county commissioner, second district, Bernard Deaver of Grant is running against incumbent Leon Pankonin.
County treasurer Patsy Kroeker will face non-incumbent Julie A. Sestak for that position.
For Grant City Council, incumbent Bob Tatum has re-filed and will face non-incumbent Darrell F. Pierce, who has thrown his hat into the council race.
Incumbent Michael L. Mosel has re-filed for the Perkins County Hospital Board.
Additional incumbents who have not filed as of press time include Grant Mayor Michael Wyatt, Grant City Council member Kirk York and Perkins County School Board members Amy Kroeker, Ryan Hendricks and Scott Osler.
Incumbents Brenda Kiolbasa and Bonnie Taubenheim have not yet re-filed for the Perkins County Hospital board.
Incumbents filing before the deadline include County Commissioner, District Three, Steve Tucker of Venango, County Sheriff James Brueggeman and County Clerk Rita Long. Incumbent County Assessor Bonnie Appel and County Attorney Richard H. Roberts have both re-filed for their respective positions.
Filing deadlines for village boards are July 15 for incumbents and Aug. 1 for non-incumbents.
Brenda Metcalf nor Larry Biesecker have re-filed for the Elsie Village Board nor have incumbents Mark Heil and Kristi Ogg for the Madrid Village Board.
Venango Village Board members Dennis Ekdahl, William ‘Dude’ Tines and Diana Maupin, all incumbents, have not filed as of yet for their respective positions.
Rita Long, Perkins County clerk, indicated that with the extended deadlines for village board members, filings will likely not happen until closer to the date or late spring at the earliest.
On a state level, Dan Hughes of Venango is running for legislature, District 44, as is Dennis Berry of McCook.
The position is currently held by Sen. Mark Christensen of Imperial, but due to term limits the seat will be open next term.
Garry Lawyer of Grant is running for the Mid-Plains Community College board of governors in District 2 for a four-year term.