Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Dolezal attends weed control conference PDF Print E-mail

Michael Dolezal, Perkins County Weed Superintendent recently attended the Nebraska Weed Control Association 67th Annual Conference.  This year’s conference was held at the Divots Conference Center in Norfolk on February 11th and 12th. The theme was Early Detection- Rapid Response (EDRR)
Tuesday’s topics included:  Mitch Coffin, Nebraska Department of Ag,  What is EDRR?; Rich Walters, The Nature Conservancy, NEWMAC’s EDRR Efforts; Mike Reed, Douglas County Weed Superintendent,  Nebraska’s Weed Risk Assessment Program; Brent Meyer, Lancaster County Weed Superintendent,  Nebraska’s Watch List & Eco-region Breakout session; Brian Korman, National Parks Service “Saltcedar on the Missouri River National Recreational River”; Gerry Steinhauer, Nebraska Game and Parks, Invasive Grasses; Justin King, NPPD, Aquatic Invasive Species Detection and Mitigation Planning; Patty York, Colorado EDRR Specialist, Colorado’s Noxious Weed Program.
Tuesday evening was the Annual Banquet and Awards Ceremony, with a presentation by Chris Helzer of the Nature Conservancy, followed by entertainment from Comedian/magician Gayle Becwar.
Wednesday’s topics included: The Battle Against Invasive Plants video; Ron Moehring, SD Department of Ag, South Dakota’s EDRR program; Patty York, Colorado’s EDRR Program, Scott Marsh, Kansas Department of Agriculture, Kansas’s EDRR Program; 4 State Round Table Discussion about EDRR; Marty Craig, Dawson County Weed Superintendent, Nebraska’s Mapping Program; Rod Stolcpart, Rock County Weed Superintendent, Computer Filing System. The Annual Business Meeting Luncheon was held on Wednesday noon, and resulted in Todd Boller of Fillmore County being elected as the new NWCA Vice President.  Brian Crabtree of Hamilton County is now the NWCA President for 2014-2015.
With every training offered by the NWCA, each superintendent must answer roll call twice per day, complete and pass the exam at the end of each day to receive 10 hours continuing education credit.