Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

York cites time as factor for not re-running PDF Print E-mail

By Tim Linscott
Managing Editor
Time, or lack thereof, was the major factor Grant City Council member Kirk York said was why he did not register for another term on the city council.
York did not make the Feb. 18 deadline and said he was not running again because of his schedule.
“I can’t dedicate enough time to the position that it needs,” York said. “I am working out of town and I can’t do what I want to do. It was a time issue.”
York will serve out his term on the council, which means the race for the two open spots on the council will be between Bob Tatum, Andrea Brueggeman and Darrell F. Pierce.
With York deciding to not run for office again, two city council positions will be vacant, with Tatum, the incumbent, already filing for his seat. Pierce was previously on the council from 2007 to 2010 and Brueggeman from 2002 to 2006 and from June 2008 to December 2008. Brueggeman filled out Joyce Rahn’s term in 2008.
Monday (March 3) at 4 p.m. was the deadline for all non-incumbents to file for seats, including the city council. Brueggeman filed Monday.
Perkins County Clerk Rita Long explained that a write-in candidate can still register for positions, with the deadline to do so being May 2. Long’s office will be open until 6 p.m., an extension from the usual 4 p.m. closure time, on May 2 to accommodate any write-in candidates or voter registration.
Other last minute candidate filings included Ted Deaver for Perkins County Commissioner, District 3. Deaver will face incumbent Steve Tucker for that position.