Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Perkins County Quiz Bowl team has high finish at state PDF Print E-mail

The Perkins County Quiz Bowl team finished in the top six percentile at the state Quiz Bowl championship in Holdrege on April 30.
Each ESU in the state (of which there are 17) was allowed to send up to two teams to compete at state. There were 27 teams that competed at state including Kearney High, O’Neill, Ainsworth, Thayer Central, Bellevue East, Cedar Bluffs, Medicine Valley, Seward, Perkins County, Minden, Columbus, Mitchell, West Holt, Dundy County-Stratton, Elkhorn, Freeman, Wilcox-Hildreth, North Platte St. Patrick’s, Nebraska City Lourdes Central Catholic, Wisner-Pilger, Dorchester, Sandy Creek, Nebraska City, Adams Central, High Plains Community, Valentine and Heartland Lutheran.  
This was a double-elimination, bracket-style tournament.  In the first round of competition, Perkins County lost to Minden 35-40.  The Plainsmen won their second match 35-25 over Medicine Valley.  Perkins County lost their third match to Cedar Bluffs by a score of 10-30.
However, when compared to the number of high schools that compete in quiz bowl, this year’s Perkins County finished the season in the top six percent of all teams, all-class in the state.  
PCS Quiz Bowl coach Deanne Bishop was proud of the accomplishments of her team.
“The students had a very successful season,” Bishop said. “Anytime you can win your conference, that’s a huge deal. To back that up by winning the district was fantastic. I was glad our students got a win at the state tournament, and hopefully we can build on that success for future years.”
Getting the team ready for next year will not be easy for any competitor.
Each year tryouts are held to determine who qualifies for the 10-member team.
“So, a person who was an underclassmen on this year’s team isn’t guaranteed a spot on next year’s squad,” Bishop said.
There are seven underclassmen coming back next year to try out.
“Hopefully we have a number of other high-schoolers who were inspired by this year’s efforts and want to try out, too,” Bishop said.
Team members include:  Brady Mailand (captain), Allison Kiolbasa, Hailey Sletten, Kaleb Gaar, Samantha Snogren, Zak Kurkowski, Shane Ourada, Dylan Malmkar, Sam Rowley and Amanda Reichert.