Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Primary election Tuesday, May 13 PDF Print E-mail

The 2014 primary election in Perkins County will be Tuesday, May 13.
Early voter’s ballots must be in the possession of the election office by 7 p.m. on May 13. The ballots can be mailed to: Perkins County Clerk, Rita A. Long, PO Box 156, Grant, NE., 69140.
Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. on May 13 at the Perkins County Fairgrounds.
Sample ballots were printed in the May 1 issue of the Tribune-Sentinel.
Early voting can be done until May 12 at the Perkins County Clerk’s office from 8 a.m. until 4 p.m.
Long suggested people carry at least one form of identification on them when voting as the Nebraska Secretary of State’s office can require random ID checks at the polls.
She certified 1,972 eligible voters in the county for this election and that is a typical number for Perkins County.
“I am usually around 1,975 to 1,973 or so,” Long said.
There were 35 more Republican voters this time but Long could not verify if that was due to new voters or people switching political parties.
“Get and vote,” Long said, adding that she is hoping for a high voter turnout this primary election due to, ‘some very important races on the ballot.’
There were 215 early voter registration in the 2012 primary election. This year, Long notes that there are 242 with a few days of registration available.
She believes the races on the primary ballot may be the cause for the increase.
Some of those races include the race for county treasurer. Incumbent Patsy Kroeker will face Julie Sestak and in county commissioner, district 2, Leon Pankonin (incumbent) will face Bernard Deaver.
County commissioner, District 3, incumbent Steve Tucker will face Ted Deaver.
For District 44 legislature, three candidates will vie for Mark Christensen’s spot in Lincoln. Steve Stroup, Dennis Berry and Dan Hughes are the three hopefuls for that position.