Weather Forecast

Click for Grant, Nebraska Forecast

Annual Firecracker run held in Grant July 4 PDF Print E-mail


A total of 228 runners took part in the 2014 edition of the Firecracker 5k run in Grant on July 4.
There were seven divisions in both the men’s and women’s category with the top three runners recognized in each division.
Overall men’s winner was Indy Smith. Overall women’s winner was Regan Taubenheim.
For the men’s division, winning in the 19 and under class, Holden Dreiling was first with Ryan Avrich second.
Tyler Taubenheim finished third.
In the 20-29 division, Sheldon Holt won, edging out Logan Kruger (second) and Thomas Sullivan (third) for top spot.
In the 30-39 age division, Tom Stynski was first, Tom Rau second and Phillip Picquet third.
Finishing first in the 40-49 age group was Brian Kemling while Pat Aerni was second and Michael Kline third.
Jonathon Beverly won the 50-59 division over Bryan Kroeter (second) and John Paisley (third).
Del Sperling finished first in the 60-69 age group over Wendell Carothers.
Pat Schroder won the 70 and over age group.
For the women, Kelsey Crymble won the 19 and under division while Emily Kemling was second and Meredith McCoy was third.
Completing the course in first place in the 20-29 age group was Ashley Kemling with Morgan Holt placing second and Krystal Gaar finishing in third place.
In the 30-39 age group, Rachel Hanson was first, Katie Robertson second and Kristi McNair third.
Placing first in the 40-49 age group was Kelly Crymble, while Alicia Fries was second. Finishing in third place was Eileen Shannahan.
Mary Pierce was tops in the 50-59 age group while Kristi Krueger was second and Renae Bottom third.
Winning the 60-69 age group was Kathy Sperling with Star Kemling second and Susan Hanson third.
Turn to page 10 for a photo of all those who placed in a division.