Article Image Alt Text


Pheasant Run Golf Club presented gifts to (l-r): Kevin and Barb Hatch and Kyle Hatch for 10 years or running the golf tournament.

Golfers from around the globe in 10 years of Hatch’s tournament

Hatch’s Super Foods recently hosted their 10th annual 3-man scramble golf tournament at Pheasant Run Golf Course.

Organizer Kyle Hatch, a 2002 Perkins County High School graduate, said it’s been a successful tournament that’s brought thousands into town and put Pheasant Run on the map for 3-man scrambles in Nebraska. 

For the last eight years, the tournament has been full with 38 teams. 

“For a 3-man, 18-hole scramble, that’s a load for the course, and we’ve finished every year without any major delays,” said Hatch. 

He came up with the idea for a tournament as he was playing in tournaments in small towns across the state. Working with Troy Terwilliger, they decided to run one if Hatch’s Super Foods would be a primary sponsor.  Kyle’s dad, Kevin Hatch, was on board. 

“Go for it, but if you’re going to run it with our name behind the tournament, it better be done right!” Kyle recalls his dad telling him. 

Undoubtedly, Kyle has done well representing the family name. The tournament has had golfers participate from all the lower 48 states and even from Dubai, United Arab Emirates.

Nathan Lashley, who won the 2019 Rocket Mortgage PGA event and tied for 28th in the 2019 US Open, won the 2013@ Hatch’s tournament with Nick Mason, a 2014 US Open participant. They played with Klint Krieger. 

The tournament is held the last full weekend in June.  Tee times begin on Saturday around 7:24 a.m. and run through 1:12 p.m. Sunday play begins around 7 a.m. to get players back home.  

Hatch said the staggered tee times have allowed them to have 114 golfers on the course for two full days. 

Hatch’s Super Foods hosts a steak dinner on Saturday night for all the golfers and their spouses, the sponsors and golf course help.

Hatch lives in Lincoln with his wife Megan, and children Kinsley, 5, and Knox, 3.

After 10 years, busy schedules leave future tournaments in question. Hatch said Jayson Bishop has expressed interest in continuing the annual event. 

Past winners

2010—Rusty Triplette, Nicholas Nosewicz, Marcus Dunning—55-55=110 (-34)

2011—AJ Neifert, Kent Schreiner, Gary Schreiner—55-56=111 (-33)

2012—Nicholas Nosewicz, Rusty Triplette, Tom Hart—56-57=113 (-31)

2013—Nathan Lashley, Nick Mason, Klint Krieger—56-55=111 (-33)

2014—Kyle Hatch, Randy Styskal, Ryan Cook—55-61=116 (-28)

2015—Andy Weingardt, Brian Carruthers, Kyle Gertner—54-59=113 (-31)

2016—Ryan Henderson, Kirk Utecht, Waid Vontz—56-63=119 (-25)

2017—Kyle Hatch, Randy Styskal, Ryan Cook—57-59=116 (-28)

2018—Kent Schreiner, Matt Havermann, Jon Oswalt—55-57=112 (-32)

2019—Kyle Hatch, Randy Styskal, Ryan Cook—57-61=118 (-26)


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140