Article Image Alt Text Brooke Robertson | Johnson Publications

Rita Long of Grant was the first voter to vote in Perkins County on Tuesday, Oct. 9.

Article Image Alt Text

Kristi Ogg of Madrid was the second voter.

Early voting underway for Nov. 6 general election

In-person early voting began yesterday, Oct. 9 for the general election on Nov. 6. 

Perkins County Election Commissioner Rita Long said seven came in to vote at the courthouse. 

She has mailed early ballots to 17 of the 1,965 registered voters in Perkins County. These ballots must be returned by 7 p.m. on Election Day.

The deadline to register to vote in person is Friday, Oct. 26. If registering by mail, applications must be postmarked by Friday, Oct. 19. Those wishing to register online may do so at the Secretary of State’s website. A driver’s license or state identification card is required to register. 


A bond question will be presented to City of Grant voters on whether or not to issue bonds in a principal amount not to exceed $2.4 million for the purpose of financing a new swimming pool and bathhouse. 

Perkins County’s contested races for the general election include:

• Grant City Mayor-—Lisa Schmitt and Bryce Anderson.

• Grant City Council (2)—Andrea Brueggeman, incumbent; Darrell Pierce, incumbent; Chase Sauder and Edward Dunn.

• Elsie Village Board (2)—Doug Curtis, incumbent; Kevin Kugler, Lynn Cook, Charles D. Kramer and Amanda Condon. 

• Madrid Village Board (2)— Kristy Ogg, incumbent; Kevin Klahn and Jennifer Baumgartner.

• Venango Village Board (3)—Josh Clark, Troy Grothman, incumbent; Dennis Ekdahl, incumbent; and Christina Farnsworth.

• Perkins County Schools (3)—Amy Kroeker, incumbent; Adair Reese, Angela Gloy, Chris Fryzek.

Uncontested races for the county include:

• County Commissioner District No. 2—Ron Hagan, Republican.

• County Assessor— Peggy Burton, Republican incumbent.

• County Attorney—Richard Roberts, Republican incumbent.

• County Commissioner District No. 3-—Steven Tucker, Republican incumbent.  

• County Clerk—Rita Long, Republican incumbent.

• County Sheriff—James Brueggeman, Republican incumbent.

• County Treasurer—Julie Sestak, Republican incumbent.


Initiative 427, or the Medicaid Expansion Initiative, will be presented to Nebraska voters. If passed, the Inititiative would require the state government to provide Medicaid for adults 19-64 whose incomes are equal to or below 138 percent of the federal poverty line. 

State candidates filings include:

• Legislature, District 44—Dan Hughes, Venango, incumbent; Stephanie Malcolm, Palisade.

• URNRD Board, Subdistrict 4—Jason Kunkel, Lamar, incumbent.

• URNRD Board, Subdistrict 8—none.

• URNRD Board, Subdistrict 10—Jay L. Lee, Madrid.

• URNRD Board, At Large—Brock Stromberger, Champion; Duane Dinnel, Wauneta. 

• NPPD Board, Subdistrict 5—Thomas Hoff, Broken Bow, incumbent; Charlie Kennedy, Scottsbluff.

• MPCC Board, District 2—Pam Abbott, Ogallala.

• ESU No. 16 Board, District 9—Jamie Picquet.

• ESU No. 16 Board, District 11—none.

Candidate Previews

Photos of candidates can be viewed on page 3. A summary of why they are running and why voters should vote for them will be featured later this month, along with the sample ballots. 


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140