Five PC families to be honored during fair

Five Perkins County families are among 138 being honored with the 2018 Nebraska Pioneer Farm and Nebraska Heritage Farm Awards by the AKSARBEN Foundation, along with Nebraska Farm Bureau and the Nebraska Association of Fair Managers. 

These awards recognize Nebraska farm families who have consecutively held ownership of land in the same family for at least 100 years (Pioneer) or 150 years (Heritage).

Perkins County families receiving the Pioneer award honoring 100 years include Bill D. and Carmen M. Richmond, Joe Vak Farms Inc., Stanley F. Dolezal, Milford Nodlinski, and Coppersmith Farms Inc.

Since the award’s inception in 1956, nearly 10,000 farm families statewide have received the Nebraska Pioneer Farm Award. 

The Nebraska Heritage Farm Award, established in 2014, has been awarded to nearly 75 farm families. 

“We look forward to recognizing and awarding these Nebraska farm families each year. The dedication and perseverance demonstrated by these families is a testament to the strong Nebraska values that set our state apart and have been making AKSARBEN proud, for over 120 years,” said Sandra Reding, AKSARBEN Foundation President.

Partnering with AKSARBEN in sponsoring these awards each year, Nebraska Farm Bureau President Steve Nelson has said, “Nebraska Farm Bureau is proud to help sponsor these farm family awards. Nebraska Farm Bureau’s heritage and continuous mission is to serve Nebraska farm and ranch families, and these awards recognize the commitment to preserve and build Nebraska agriculture for future generations.”

Award presentation

The award presentation will take place during the Perkins County Fair on Saturday, July 21 during intermission of the demolition derby. The derby begins at 6:30 p.m.

Each honoree receives an engraved plaque and gatepost marker as permanent recognition of this milestone. 

Past Pioneer award recipients

2017—Thomas L and Janet L Kraus, Keith and Doris Olsen

2015—Sharon McCormick Burge and Dale Burge

2013—Gary and Diane McCormick 

2012—Jane Faught Potts 

2011—Katherine Simpson

2010—Sunnyknoll Farms, Inc.

2009—Roger Tjaden

2007—Cooper Farms Ltd., Myron & Bonnie Dodson

2000—Steve Hanson

1999—Dave Hilferty 

1995—Davis Law, Henry Olson

1989—M. Glen and Paula Stanek

1988—Doris Lee, Warren McClintock

1987 Beverly Chrisman, Carl & Dorothy Engel Mahnken, Charles Jackman, Erlewine Farms Inc., Francies Cutler, Glenn Ford,  John Culver, Robert Lingbloom, Susie Fae Thompson

1986—John Osler,  Max & Darlene Peterson, William Conrad McGahan

1985—John Dittmer, Louise Pankonin,  Richard Steinke


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140