Four new filings in city races

Bryce Anderson and Tim Pofahl have filed to run for mayor of the City of Grant. They join candidates Lisa Schmitt and Matt Greenwood.

With four mayoral candidates, the race will now appear on the primary election ballot in May. Two candidates will advance to the general election in November.

Chase Sauder and Edward Dunn join incumbents Andrea Brueggeman and Darrell Pierce on the Grant City Council ballot. 

 Incumbents have until this Thursday, Feb. 15 to file for re-election. The Perkins County Clerk’s office will remain open until 5 p.m. Non-incumbents have until Tuesday, March 1 to file 

Incumbents who have not yet filed for re-election as of press time include Grant City Mayor Mike Wyatt, Perkins County Schools Board Member Scott Osler and Perkins County Hospital Board Member Mike Mosel. 

Current filings for primary election include:

County Commissioner District No. 2—Bernard Deaver, Republican incumbent; Ron Hagan, Republican; James J. Vak, Republican

Grant City Mayor-—Schmitt, Greenwood, Anderson, Pofahl

Perkins County Hospital—Bonnie Taubenheim, incumbent; Mary Jo Gengenbach, incumbent

Current filings for general election include:

County Assessor— Peggy Burton, Republican incumbent 

County Attorney—Richard Roberts, Republican incumbent

County Commissioner District No. 3-—Steven Tucker, Republican incumbent  

County Clerk—Rita Long, Republican incumbent 

County Sheriff—James Brueggeman, Republican incumbent 

County Treasurer—Julie Sestak, Republican incumbent

Grant City Council—Andrea Brueggeman, incumbent; Pierce, incumbent; Sauder, Dunn

Perkins County Schools—Amy Kroeker, incumbent; Ryan Hendricks, incumbent.

Village of Elsie—Doug Curtis

Village board incumbents have until July 16 to file and non-incumbents have until Aug. 1.

 The primary election will be held on May 15 and the general election will be held Nov. 6. 

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140