Primary election set for Tuesday, May 15

Voters in Perkins County and throughout Nebraska will go to the polls Tuesday to cast their votes in the primary election.

In Perkins County, the voting for all three precincts is held at the Perkins County fairgrounds building. Polls are open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. 

County Clerk and Election Commissioner Rita Long said her office is ready for the election.

Friday, May 4 marked the final day people could register to vote in the primary if they weren’t already registered. 

As it now stands, 1,965 people in Perkins County have registered to vote. Of those, 1,393 are registered as Republicans; 293 as Democrats; 271 as nonpartisan; and eight as Libertarians.

So far, 186 voters have voted early or requested ballots. Ballots must be returned by mail or in person to the clerk’s office by 7 p.m. Tuesday to be counted. 

The Republican, Democrat and Libertarian ballots include federal, state and county partisan races and nonpartisan local and Unicameral races. 

Registered voters who are not affiliated with a political party (nonpartisan) can still vote for U.S. Senate and Congressional candidates by requesting a nonpartisan party ballot. The nonpartisan Republican and Libertarian ballots only include these two races. The Democratic Party opened their primary election to nonpartisans so that ballot will include all federal, state, and local races.

All of the ballots include nonpartisan races and ballot issues. 

These include:

Legislature District 44—Dan Hughes of Venango and Stephanie Malcolm of Palisade;

State Board of Education District 7—Robin Stevens of Gothenburg;

Perkins County Hospital District Board—Bonnie Taubenheim, Mary Jo Gengenbach, Richard Thurin and Chris Fryzek;

 Grant Mayor—Lisa Schmitt, Matt Greenwood, Bryce Anderson and Tim Pofahl;

 Grant City Council—Andrea Brueggeman, Darrell Pierce, Chase Sauder, Edward Dunn, Kirk York and Noel Bullock

Both candidates from the Legislature race will advance to the general election on Nov. 6. 

The primary election will determine which three candidates are elected to the hospital board. 

Two of the four mayoral candidates and four of the six city council candidates will advance to the general election. 

One local race will appear on the Republican ballot. Bernard Deaver, Ronald Hagan and James Vak are competing for the seat of Perkins County Commissioner in District 2. Whoever wins the primary will run uncontested in November.

Some races not in primary

Since there are only five candidates for three Perkins County School Board seats, all candidates automatically advance to the general election. Candidates include Amy Kroeker, Ryan Hendricks, Adair Reese, Angela Gloy and Chris Fryzek. 

Uncontested county seats that will advance to November include the Assessor Peggy Burton, Attorney Rick Roberts, District 3 Commissioner- Steve Tucker, Clerk Rita Long, Sheriff Jim Brueggman and Treasurer Julie Sestak. 

Village, ESU, Mid-Plains College and NRD boards will also appear on the general election ballot. 

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140