Article Image Alt Text Brooke Robertson | Johnson Publications

Members of the 2018 Perkins County cross country team are (front row, l-r): Beau Wood, Sam McArtor, Caleb Lagler, Matthew Hahn, Evan Sestak, Jace Wid and Jarin Tines. Back row: Coach Lance Wurst, Hailey Snyder, Caden Waitley, Jaden Dietlein, Trye Hickey and Coach Paula Wurst. Not pictured: Matt Aerni, Carter Krajewski, Bruce Gamble, Colton Pouk and Katie Patrick.

PC XC numbers strong

Perkins County’s cross country team is entering the 2018 season 22 runners strong. 

Five of six boys varsity runners return after receiving second at SPVA and claiming runner-up at districts last season. 

Senior Caden Waitley claimed the gold at SPVA and districts, placing ninth at state. The team placed eighth. 

This year’s team consists of 18 boys and four girls with seven letter winners returning. 

Letter winners include seniors Jaden Dietlein, Matthew Hahn, Kate Patrick, Hailey Snyder, Jarin Tines and Waitley; and junior Evan Sestak. 

Other team members include senior Beau Wood; juniors Matthew Aerni, Trye Hickey, Caleb Lagler, Sam McArtor, Jace Wid and James Wright; sophomores Bruce Gamble, Carter Krajewski, Irvin Reyes, Keegan Sims and Abby Schmidt; and freshman Kai Colgrove and Colton Pouk. 

Coach Paula Wurst, assisted by her husband, Lance Wurst, is beginning her 16th year as head coach. She is excited for the season, stating the strong senior leadership as an asset for the team. 

The team’s first meet will be Thursday, Aug. 30, at 4 p.m. MT at North Platte St. Pat’s.


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140