Article Image Alt Text Bonnie Becker| Johnson Publications
The 2018 Perkins County C2-6 district speech championship team includes (front row, l-r): Savannah Schmitt, Haven Wid, Karen Ruiz, Kate Patrick, Miah Long, Sam McArtor and Ethan Terry. Second row: Hannah Kempf, Destiny Beisner, Kadie Hanson, Peyton Woodmancy, Hailee Iske-Fraizer, Rylee Huff, Bella Fraizer and Keshia Leeper. Third row: Valerie Perez, Bryce Grothman, Brandon Case, Jonathan Hanson, Nathan Kemling, Carter Krajewski, Jacob Woodmancy and Ian Picquet. Back row: Cassidy Goldenstein, Kenyon Gaar, Chris Terry, Colton Heinemann, Caleb Lagler, Evan Sestak, Matthew Wendell and Ian Sihm.

PC speech team wins districts to qualify for state

Perkins County High School came home as the C2-6 district speech champions on Tuesday, March 13.

Varsity members of the speech team competed with speakers from Bayard, Dundy County-Stratton, Hemingford, Hitchcock County, Maxwell, North Platte St. Pat’s, Southwest and Sutherland in the district competition at North Platte High School.

The contest included two preliminary rounds, advancing the top six speakers or groups into a final round.  The top three entrants in the final round earned a trip to the state contest, which will be held at the University of Nebraska Kearney on Friday, March 23.

Under district rules, competitors receive scores in both preliminary rounds as well as those tallied in the final round. As a team, PCS speakers earned 383 points to take first place honors, followed by Sutherland’s team which finished with 307 points for second place.

Speakers and placings for PCS include (*state bound): 

Informative—Sam McArtor*, first; Haven Wid, sixth 

Persuasive—Kate Patrick*, first; Haven Wid*, second 

Extemporaneous—Matthew Wendell*, third; Valerie Perez, fifth 

Entertainment—Ian Sihm, sixth; Peyton Woodmancy, seventh 

Poetry—Hailee Iske-Fraizer*, third; Kadie Hanson, fourth

Humorous Prose—Jacob Woodmancy*, first

 Serious Prose—Karen Ruiz, fifth

Duet Acting—Chris Terry and Colton Heinemann*, second; Jonathan Hanson and Nathan Kemling*, third 

Oral Interpretation of Drama—Sam McArtor, Matthew Wendell, Keshia Leeper, Jacob Woodmancy and Ian Sihm*, first; Kenyon Gaar, Bryce Grothman, Chris Terry and Colton Heinemann*, second


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140