www.johnsonpublications.zenfolio.com Brooke Robertson | Johnson Publications

Perkins County School students in the musical this weekend include (front row, l-r): Jarin Tines, Peyton Woodmancy and Beau Wood. Second row: Emme Sims, Jordan Mireles, Josh Malmkar, Jessie Craig, Kayla Wid and Jacob Woodmancy. Back row: Sophia Perez, Kayla Reichenberg, Jayden Huntsman, Sam McArtor, Summer Postlewait and Meghan Bishop. Not pictured: Matthew Wendell, Keshia Leeper, Maddy Ingold, Savannah Schmitt, Hannah Kempf and Matthew Aerni.

PCS students to present Adventures of a Comic Book Artist

Perkins County Schools will be presenting Adventures of a Comic Book Artist this weekend, Sept. 22 and 23. 

Saturday’s show will take place at 7 p.m. and Sunday’s show will begin at 4 p.m. in the multipurpose room at Perkins County High School. 

Adventures of a Comic Book Artist is an action-packed spoof of the comic book genre complete with singing superheroes and dancing villains. 

Stanley Leonardo Sappovitz, played by Beau Wood, wants nothing more than to become a comic book artist and create heroes and villains for the comic books he loves so much. As the janitor at Wonder Comics, he anxiously awaits the day that his boss, D.C. Wunderman, played by Summer Postlewait, will see his drawings and give him the chance to have his superheroes come alive on the printed page.  

Stanley’s heroes come alive, all right—but not on the printed page. In an effort to revive her faltering company, Wunderman had ordered a set of magical pens guaranteed to bring to life any character drawn. 

When plans go awry and his staff of artists create the dreaded super-villain Doctor Shock Clock, played by Matthew Wendell, it is up to Stanley to save the day with his own superheroes: charismatic but egotistical Star Guy (Jacob Woodmancy), speedy Triple Time (Sam McArtor), environmentally-correct Blossom (Savannah Schmitt) and cranky little Wombat Woman (Peyton Woodmancy).  

Stanley’s heroes then battle Shock Clock and his henchmen, the Minutos (Jarin Tines, Jessie Craig and Maddy Ingold). 

To see how it ends, be sure to attend the musical on Saturday or Sunday.

Other participants and crew members include Emme Sims, Jordan Mireles, Kayla Wid, Sophia Perez, Kayla Reichenberg, Jayden Huntsman, Meghan Bishop, Keshia Leeper, Hannah Kempf, Josh Malmkar and Matthew Aerni.

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140