Article Image Alt Text Samantha Goff | Johnson Publications

Graduate Allisa Overstreet hugs her mom, Tandy Overstreet, after giving Tandy a flower for her and for her late mother, Nancy. 

Perkins County Schools graduates 30

Saturday, May 12 saw Perkins County Schools send 30 graduates onto their next venture.  

Class Vice President Jaci Kurkowski opened the commencement ceremony, thanking family and community members for seeing her and her classmates through their 13 years of education, and offering the opening prayer. 

Class Treasurer Karen Ruiz addressed  her classmates, sharing memories they had shared through the years.

Senior choir members sang “This is the Moment” before the slideshow presentation featuring photos of the Class of 2018.

The 30 graduates showed their parents and loved ones their appreciation by presenting them flowers to the sound of “You’re Gonna Miss This” by Trace Adkins. 

Class President Kenyon Gaar spoke about the plans, characteristics and successes of the Class of 2018. 

“We must accept finite disappointment, but never lose infinite hope,” he said. 

High School Principal Dean Friedel recognized academic achievements. Graduates in National Honor Society included Michael Beck, Kyla Brueggeman, Gaar, Cassidy Goldenstein, Kadie Hanson, Colton Heinemann, Charles Johnson, Josh Johnston, Nathan Kemling, Jessica Klingelhoefer, Kurkowski, Colton Lamberti-Schmidt, Zach Malmkar, Tyson Patrick, Valerie Perez, Ruiz and Christopher Terry.

Those graduating with distinction included Beck, Hanson, Heinemann, Johnson, Kemling, Klingelhoefer, Kurkowski, Ruiz, Haven Wid and Sydney Wilson. 

Superintendent Phillip Picquet recognized mothers in honor of Mother’s Day the following day, grandparents, great-grandparents, parents and faculty. Ms. Diana Tate received a standing ovation in recognition of her 40 years of teaching.

Picquet offered advice to the graduates from the book, “The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People” by Stephen Covey. Habit No. 5: Seek first to understand, then to be understood. 

Picquet presented the Class of 2018, and he and Angie Patrick, PCS board member, presented diplomas to Beck, Brueggeman, Laura Dreiling, Maggie Earl, Gaar, Goldenstein, Bryce Grothman, Jonathan Hanson, Kadie Hanson, Heinemann, Hailee Iske-Fraizer, Johnson, Johnston, Kemling, Jack Kennicutt, Klingelhoefer, Jack Kohl, Kurkowski, Lamberti-Schmidt, Zach Malmkar, Allisa Overstreet, Patrick, Perez, Ruiz, Eric Sandberg, Austin Seiler, Terry, Wid, Wilson and Gabe Wright.

Class Secretary Valerie Perez closed the ceremony, speaking of the many phases their class has gone through and what now lies ahead of them. 

“Do what you love and what makes you happy,” she said. 

The graduates exited to their class song, “Good Riddance (Time of your Life)” by Green Day. 


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140