Coach Dustin Stodola, Carson Thelander, Jack Kennicutt, Beau Wood, Emilio Perez, Isaias Perez and Coach Todd Ford

Five Perkins County wrestlers qualify for state

Five Perkins County wrestlers placed in the top four at the D-4 district meet at North Platte St. Pat’s to qualify for the NSAA State Wrestling Championships. 

On Thursday, Feb. 9, Carson Thelander and Beau Wood each received a bye in both the first round and quarterfinals to advance them to the semifinals on Feb. 10.

Emilio Perez and Isaias Perez each received a bye in the first round and pinned their quarterfinal opponents to advance. 

Jack Kennicutt pinned his opponents in both the first round and the quarterfinals to move to semis. 

Wood, a junior still standing undefeated at 26-0, took the gold in the 182-pound class. Wood is a three-time state qualifier, placing third at state last year.

Kennicutt, a senior with a 26-12 record, is returning for his second year at the state meet. He went 3-1 during the district tournament for second place in the 170-pound class. 

Thelander, a sophomore with a 20-17 record, pinned his semifinal opponent and lost the championship match by fall, claiming silver and his first trip to state in the 106-pound class. 

Emilio Perez, a junior with a 18-14 record, came back from a semifinal loss to earn his second trip to state with a fourth place finish in the 220-pound class. 

Isaias Perez, a senior and first-year wrestler with a 21-22 record in the 285-pound class, also came back from a semifinal loss to take fourth. 

Competing against 20 teams, Perkins County placed fifth with 103 points. 

Other wrestlers who won matches and contributed points included Logan Hanson, Jace Wid, Matt McClung and Brandon Knoles. 

Coach Dustin Stodola said they grew substantially as a team this year. 

“We’re very fortunate to have a group of kids like this,” he said.

As a first year coach, he feels the team believes in what he wants to do with the program.

As far as this week, Stodola said he planned on giving them the same speech he always does. 

“First thing you got to do is you got to go out there and have fun.”

He plans to take advantage of the individual time he’ll get to work with the five qualifiers. 

“I believe this is the start of something special here in Perkins County,” he said. 

District Results

Team scores: 1. Mullen, 167; 2. Maxwell, 140; 3. Morrill, 131; 4. Bayard, 114; 5. Perkins County, 103; 6. Hemingford, 88; 7. Sutherland, 64; 8. Hitchcock County, 61; 9. Crawford, 57; 10. North Platte St. Patrick`s, 47; 11. Hyannis, 42; 12. Dundy County Stratton, 41; 13. Hay Springs, 28; 14. Minatare, 26; 15. Garden County, 24; 16. Medicine Valley, 21; 17. Sandhills/Thedford, 18; 18. Sioux County, 7; 19. Wauneta-Palisade, 3.5; 20. McPherson County, 1; 21. Banner County, 0.

 Individual results: 106—Carson Thelander (20-17), received a bye, received a bye, won by fall over Alyssa Shaw (Hyannis) 7-18 (Fall 1:46), lost by fall to Tyler Nagel (Morrill) 34-7 (Fall 2:38) placing second and scoring 18.00 team points.

113—Bruce Gamble (3-16) received a bye, lost by fall to Teven Marshall (Mullen) 39-4, received a bye, lost by fall to Connor McKeeman (Maxwell) 28-10 (Fall 0:17)

120—Logan Hanson (4-23) lost by fall to Hunter Kildow (Bayard) 23-15 (Fall 1:51), received a bye, won by fall over Bruce Zogg (Sutherland) 6-36 (Fall 4:21), lost by fall to Austin Anderson (Hay Springs) 14-19 (Fall 1:34) scoring four team points.

126—Caden Waitley (8-23) lost by decision to Carter Buchheit (Hemingford) 33-17 (Dec 6-1), received a bye, lost by decision to Joel Priest (Hitchcock County) 20-16 (Dec 7-5).

132—Trye Hickey (11-26) lost by fall to Lucas Honstein (Hemingford) 23-22 (Fall 3:55), received a bye, lost by decision to Dennis Vogl (Crawford) 23-12 (Dec 9-2).

145—Jace Wid (14-23) won by major decision over Deven Sullivan (Banner County) 9-21 (MD 12-2), lost by major decision to William White (Sutherland) 42-9 (MD 11-0), received a bye, lost by fall to Tyler Coleman (Hemingford) 12-11 (Fall 2:49) scored 3.00 team points.

152—Matt McClung (7-22) won by fall over Allen McCumbers (Sioux County) 15-18 (Fall 2:51), lost by fall to Jonathan Foster (Sutherland) 26-14 (Fall 1:20), won by fall over Nathan Moats (North Platte St. Patrick`s) 5-25 (Fall 4:55), lost by fall to Reed McFadden (Sandhills/Thedford) 9-17 (Fall 2:36) scoring seven team points.

160—Brandon Knoles (11-22) received a bye, lost by fall to Karsen Hunter (Bayard) 38-5  (Fall 1:17), won by fall over Drake Mues (Hitchcock County) 1-40 (Fall 1:46), lost by fall to Derek Gibson (Sutherland) 34-11 won by fall over Brandon Knoles (Perkins County) 11-22 (Fall 2:36) scoring three team points.

170—Jack Kennicutt (26-12) won by fall over Alex Neefe (Hemingford) 7-35 (Fall 1:15), won by fall over Riley Kessler (Mullen) 21-22 (Fall 0:47), won by fall over Wyatt Mader (Crawford) 22-12 (Fall 2:33), lost by fall to Will Howell (Morrill) 37-2 (Fall 3:52)  placing second and scoring 22 team points.

182—Beau Wood (26-0) received a bye, received a bye, won by fall over Kendal Neal (Mullen) 17-20 (Fall 0:22), won by decision over Bryce Running Hawk (Hay Springs) 20-10 (Dec 2-1) placing first and scoring 22 team points.

220—Emilio Perez (18-14) received a bye, won by fall over Delton Haines (Dundy County Stratton) 3-18 (Fall 2:46), lost by fall to Matt Walker (Maxwell) 33-10 (Fall 1:51), won by fall over Chris Sciortino (Garden County) 12-26 (Fall 4:45), lost by decision to John Hill (Morrill) 28-11 (Dec 5-3)  placing fourth and scoring 13 team points.

285—Isaias Perez (21-22) received a bye, won by fall over Ryan Jensen (Mullen) 13-30 (Fall 3:14), lost by fall to Cade Payne (Hemingford) 27-4 (Fall 0:30), won by decision over Gavin Harold (Sutherland) 19-24 (Dec 3-0), lost by fall to Ceasar Garduno (Minatare) 12-16 (Fall 4:18)  placing fourth and scoring 11 team points.

Next action

NSAA State Wrestling Championships will be held Feb. 15-17 at CenturyLink Omaha.

The first round of Class D will begin on Thursday at 4 p.m. CT with quarterfinals following. 

First round consolations will begin on Friday at 12:30 p.m. CT with second round consolations following. Semifinals and third round consolations will begin at 5 p.m. CT.

Consolation semifinals will begin on Saturday at 8:30 a.m. CT, with third and fifth place matches following. 

Finals begin at 2 p.m. CT and will air on NET. 

See for more information. Stay tuned to the Grant Tribune’s Facebook page for live updates. 

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140