Article Image Alt Text Brooke Robertson | Johnson Publications

Emilio Perez attempts to roll Keegan Weiss of Mitchell onto his back in the championship match at the WTC-SPVA meet last Thursday. Perez pinned Weiss at the end of the second period to claim the 285-pound title. 

Perez takes gold at WTC-SPVA

Six PC wrestlers brought home medals from the first WTC-SPVA combined conference meet Thursday, Jan. 31, with Emilio Perez taking the gold.

Due to low numbers, the Western Trails Conference and South Platte Valley Association combined conference meets to fill more weight classes and create more competition with 12 teams. 

Perkins County placed 10th with 105 points. Coach Tanner Collins said he felt the wrestlers were a still a little tired from a long weekend before and a short week to practice.

Emilio Perez once again pinned all three of his opponents to claim the championship in the 285-pound division. 

In the 160-pound division, Jace Wid earned his way to the championship bracket with a win by fall in the second round. After losing by fall, he won the third-place match by major decision.

Colton Pouk won his matches in the first two rounds in the 120-pound division but lost both in the championship bracket to place fourth.

His first meet back after a collar bone injury, Caden Waitley won his matches in all three of the first rounds in the 126-pound division. In the match that would determine whether he would wrestle for first/second or third/fourth, he was winning 2-1 in the middle of the second period when he suffered an elbow dislocation. He was transported by ambulance to the local hospital.

The match was lost by injury default and the next by medical forfeit. He placed fourth. 

Collins said he is doing well but is out for the season.  

Brandon Knoles and Deitrick Brueggeman placed fifth and sixth respectively in their weight divisions. 

Trye Hickey missed his first meet this season due to illness.

Next action

The wrestlers will travel to Broken Bow for a two-day district event on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 8-9. 

The C-4  District meet will begin at 2 p.m. MT on Friday and 8:30 a.m. on Saturday. The top four wrestlers in each weight will advance to state. 

Competing schools include Bridgeport, Broken Bow, Cambridge, Chase County Gordon-Rushville, Hemingford, Hershey, Kearney Catholic, Kimball, Loomis/Bertrand, Minden, Mitchell Ord, Southern Valley and Valentine. 

SPVA results

Team results: 1. Bridgeport, 254; 2. Gordon/Rushville, 203; 3. Mitchell, 167.5 4. Hershey, 162; 5. Sutherland, 161.5 6. Bayard, 147; 7. North Platte St Pats, 128; 8. Hemingford, 126; 9. Chase County, 121.5 10. Perkins County, 105; 11. Kimball, 55; 12. Morrill, 13.

Individual Results: 120—Colton Pouk (13-12) won by decision over Beau Lake (Bayard) 13-11 (Dec 17-16), won by decision over Connor Cluff (Kimball) 13-17 (Dec 9-6)lost by fall to Chance Cooper (Bridgeport) 23-8, (Fall 0:58), lost by decision to Jacob Dalbey (Bayard) 23-13 (Dec 8-6), lost by fall to Chance Cooper (Bridgeport) 23-8 (Fall 2:51) placing 4th and scoring 13 team points.

126—Caden Waitley (8-6) won by decision over Beau Child (Gordon/Rushville) 10-17 (Dec 9-3), won by fall over Brit Gockley (Chase Co) 10-23 (Fall 2:34), won by major decision over Hunter Kildow (Bayard) 27-15 (MD 12-3), lost by injury default to Sam Frame (Hershey) 14-18 (Inj. 3:11), lost by medical forfeit to Hunter Kildow (Bayard) 27-15 (M. For.) placing 4th and scoring 18 team points.

160—Jace Wid (21-14) received a bye, won by fall over Quentin Miller (Mitchell) 0-13 (Fall 1:13), lost by decision to Conner Halverson (Gordon/Rushville) 25-8, lost by fall to Colten Ballentine (Hershey) 28-11 (Fall 2:28), won by major decision over Bryce Seier (Morrill) 21-19 (MD 15-3) placing 3rd and scoring 17 team points.

170—Kyler Bullock (4-19) lost by fall to Talan McGill (North Platte St Pats) 30-7 (Fall 1:36), lost by fall to Nathaniel Cooper (Bridgeport) 11-3 (Fall 2:47), lost by fall to Tommy Bragg (Gordon/Rushville) 16-16, (Fall 1:00), lost by fall to Sawyer McGill (North Platte St Pats) 9-19 (Fall 4:13), received a bye, placing 7th and scoring 4.0 team points.

182-—Deitrik Brueggeman (14-19) lost by fall to Justin Schroll (North Platte St Pats) 17-19 (Fall 1:57), lost by fall to Charles Lang (Bridgeport) 29-4 (Fall 3:18), won by fall over Cody Chambers (Mitchell) 3-19 (Fall 1:52),  received a bye, lost by decision to Payne Dewey (Hershey) 11-24 (Dec 5-3), placing 6th and scoring 10 team points.

220—Brandon Knoles (27-14) lost by fall to Travis Rowley (Chase Co) 14-13 (Fall 3:24), received a bye, lost by decision to Nicholas Coley (Mitchell) 23-12 (Dec 4-0), won by decision over Toby McManigal (Kimball) 12-11 (Dec 5-3), won by fall over Colt Rodgers (Bridgeport) 15-15 (Fall 4:54) placing 5th and scoring 13 team points.

285—Ashton Meyer (5-6) received a bye,     lost by fall to Ryan Bickel (Gordon/Rushville), 19-13 (Fall 2:27), won by fall over Austin Meyer (Perkins Co) 8-15 (Fall 1:52)lost by fall to Konner Jones (Bayard) 7-14 (Fall 1:49).

285—Emilio Perez (20-2)received a bye, won by fall over Abe Ramos (Bridgeport) 5-12 (Fall 1:58), won by fall over Stephen Bateman (Kimball) 15-12 (Fall 1:07), won by fall over Keegan Weiss (Mitchell) 17-8 (Fall 3:52) placing 1st and scoring 30 team points.

285—Austin Meyer (8-15) lost by fall to Boston Goodsell (Hemingford) 23-12 (Fall 1:13, received a bye, lost by fall to Ashton Meyer (Perkins Co) 5-6 (Fall 1:52).

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140