Brooke Pankonin | Johnson Publications

Derek Sis crosses the finish line first and Bailey Schrotberger follows in fourth in the 100 meters at the Ed Moore Invitational in Ogallala on March 30. 

Perkins County boys place fifth at Ogallala

by Brooke Pankonin

Grant Tribune Sentinel

Perkins County’s boys track team took home fifth from Thursday’s Ed Moore Invitational in Ogallala. The March 30 meet, which was originally scheduled for Saturday, April 1, was rescheduled due to anticipated rain. 

Coach Shayne Hite said performances were where he thought they would be. They are still working on getting in shape, experimenting with different relay runners and getting where they need to be. 

“There are some big schools for us to compete with at this meet,” he said.

Senior boys who medaled in individual events included Derek Sis, first in the 100; Bryce Wilson, third in the 400; Bailey Schrotberger, fourth in the 100; and newcomer Kiffen Cook, fourth in the 400. 

Junior Charles Johnson placed second in the high jump and fourth in the long jump. 

Sophomore Jaden Dietlein took fourth in the 2-mile and sixth in the 1-mile. Sophomore Caden Waitley placed third in the 800. 

Freshman Evan Sestak earned a fifth place medal in the high jump.

The boys 4x100 relay placed third and the 4x400 took fourth. 

Medaling for the girls included junior Jaci Kurkowski, fifth in the shotput; and sophomore Hailey Snyder, fifth in the triple jump. 

Hite said they’re holding a couple athletes back due to minor injuries. Junior Beau Wood and sophomore Nathan Kemling did not compete due to other out-of-town activities. 

Results from Saturday’s meet are as follows:

Boys Results

Team Scores: 1.Chase County, 115; 2. Sidney, 101; 3. Ogallala, 87; 4. Mitchell, 84; 5. Perkins County, 59, 6. Chadron, 47 7. Gothenburg, 26 8. Cozad, 8; 9. Wray, 0.

100 Meters: 1. Derek Sis, 11.39, 4. Bailey Schrotberger, 11.51.

400 Meters: 3. Bryce Wilson, 53.48, 4. Kiffen Cook, 53.40. Winning time, Abe Hernandez, 51.16, Mitchell. 

800 Meters: 3. Caden Waitley, 2:09.53. Winning time: Jaco Henning, 2:05.07, Ogallala.

1600 Meters: 6. Jaden Dietlein, 5:04.60. Winning time: Will Kuenne, 4:46.34, Chase County.

3200 Meters: 4. Jaden Dietlein, 11:11.71. Winning time: Jack Lindgren, 10:16.69.

4x100 Relay: 3. Domonic Wendell, Alex Patrick, Bryce Wilson and Derek Sis, 45.23. Winning time: 44.19, Mitchell.

4x400 Relay: 4. Charles Johnson, Caden Waitley, Kiffen Cook, Bryce Wilson, 3:39.29. Winning time: 3:35.39, Sidney. 

High Jump: 2. Charles Johnson, 5-11; 5. Evan Sestak, 5-09. Winning jump: Cody Williams, 6-01.0, Chase County.

Long Jump: 4. Charles Johnson, 19-05. Winning jump: Alex Linneman, 22-01.25, Sidney.

Girls Results

Team Scores: 1. Chase County, 153; 2. Mitchell, 81; 3. Gothenburg, 69; 4. Sidney, 61; 5. Ogallala, 57; 6. Wray, 46; 7. Cozad, 45; 8. Chadron, 11; 9. Perkins County, 4.

Shotput: 5. Jaci Kurkowski, 34-04.50. Winning throw: Myranda Humphrey, 37-02.00, Ogallala. 

Triple Jump: 5. Hailey Snyder, 31-02.50. Winning jump: Megan Godsey, 34-05.00, Wray. 

Next action

The track teams will host seven other schools at the E. Lee Todd Invitational at Perkins County High School this Saturday, April 8. Field events begin at 9 a.m. and track events will begin at 10:30 a.m.

Hite said about 16 kids are gone for state FFA and FCCLA this week and will only have one practice before Saturday’s meet. 

“It’s hard to compete well in our own meet when our kids are gone all week. Hopefully by Sutherland we’ll have everyone here and start to click.”

The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140