Nora Jameson

Suiting up for the Wallace track squad this year are (front row, l-r): Tyler Daniels, Bridgett Anders, Maggie May, Madisen Messersmith, Madisyn Cutler, Robbie Nelson. Second row: Tyrel Maline, Hannah Sullivan, Hailey Brooks, Meredith McCoy, Lexi DeCent, Peyton Messersmith, Sydney Pelster, Shelby Ogier, Hannah Robertson. Third Row: Assistant Coach Donna Clough, Student Manager Tayler Banks, Student Manager Chevi McClintock, Jayden Widener, Hannah Nelson, Quinn Koop, Aubyrne McClintock, Nathan Ogier, Jared Sullivan, Assistant Coach; Bryce Hasenauer, Head Coach; Kim Walker Back row: Kaden Hager, Blake Pelster, Dylan Kuhlman, Jared Phillips, Micah Swedberg, Cameron McClintock.

Wallace kicks off their 2016-17 season

By Brooke Pankonin

Grant Tribune Sentinel

Wallace started their track season this morning, Wednesday, March 22 at the Maywood Track Invite. 

The 17 girls and 10 boys will be led by first-year head coach Kim Taylor, who replaces Elizabeth Hock. Taylor will be assisted by Donna Clough, and Bryce Hasenauer Sophomore Chevy McClintock and senior Tayler Banks are serving as student managers. 

After today’s meet, the team will compete in seven meets before districts. 

Taylor said due to the odd weather, they haven’t had a lot of time to practice out doors and work on their individualized field and track events before this first meet. 

She said the team has a lot of great senior and junior level experience and leadership this season.


Returning letter winners include Maggie May,  Peyton Messersmith, Madisen Knapp, Hannah Nelson, Jayden Widener, Shelby Ogier, Lexi DeCent and Hannah Robertson.

Returning state qualifiers include Knapp, May, Messersmith and Widener.

The team consists of four seniors, five juniors, four sohpomores and four freshmen. 

Seniors: Bridgett Anders, Madisyn Cutler, Madisen Knapp, Maggie May.

Juniors: Shelby Ogier, Hannah Nelson, Hannah Robertson, Hannah Sullivan, Jayden Widener.

Sophomores: Lexi DeCent, Hailey Lopez, Meredith McCoy, Peyton Messersmith. 

Freshmen: Hailey Brooks, Quinn Koop, Aubryne McClintock, Sydney Pelster.


Returning letter winners include Micah Swedberg, Jared Sullivan, Tyrell Maline and Robbie Nelson.

Returning state qualifier is Swedberg. 

The team consists of two seniors, two juniors, four sophomores and two freshman. 

Seniors: Tyler Daniels, Robbie Nelson.

Juniors: Tyrell Maline, Jared Sullivan

Sophomores: Kaden Hager, Cameron McClintock, Blake Pelster, Micah Swedberg. 

Freshmen: Dylan Kuhlman, Jerad Phillips


The Grant Tribune-Sentinel

308-352-4311 (Phone)
308-352-4101 (Fax)

PO Box 67
327 Central Ave in Grant
Grant NE 69140